Chop my money

When you don’t have money, it’s hard to see things in non-monetary terms. But I kid you not when I say that not all things that count can be counted.

 

Ever watched the show two broke girls? Those girls ain’t gonna not be broke any time soon. Whenever a windfall comes their way, they blow up their doe on something of no monetary value, like friendship and family or something nice that is anything but an asset (in monetary terms). Now it might be the writer playing on my gullible but these girls always seem a lot happier.

 

At the end of every episode, there is an update of their savings thus far and it scarcely has more than three digits to the left of the decimal. If that was my savings (especially in Uganda shillings), I’d use it to buy a rope and hang from it; like my life entirely depends on how much money I have!

 

When I go out with my friends, I try to be a little irresponsible. I forget to ask for the change and we don’t split the bill evenly. But when I don’t have anybody to impress, I am quite stingy. Truth, I probably overrate my friendships. Fallacy, you are not always cheated when you pay more than you should.

 

Here is a question I like to ask myself when I find that I can’t let go of my money; will I be happier holding onto this money or spending it on that? Will I be happier losing a lot of money that may one day be mere pocket change to save a friendship? Will I be more satisfied knowing that my money paid for a nutritious meal for a homeless child? In essence, would I be happier knowing that I got more value for my money?

 

One of the things I am most concerned about is learning to see things for their real value and not their inflated or deflated perceived value. And it’s more than just money; like how much worth is a friend to you, a colleague at work, a sibling, mother, father, a memory, a feeling; that laptop your father gave you for school back when your whole family had one computer, that ugly shirt your grandmother made you?

 

I am obviously a very sentimental person and I have been accused of being easily impressed, but the point here is that the value we attach to things is not necessarily the same attached to them in the market place. However, we are much happier when we spend value on and handle with value the things we deem valuable to us. Otherwise we risk trading them in for worthless things.

 

Featured Image: Uganda Money by weinformers 

 

Leave a Reply

